Section 3.—Department of Public Works.*

Since Confederation and before, the constructing department of the Dominion Government has been known as the Department of Public Works. In 1879 the railways and canals were placed under the control of a new department, the building and maintenance of penitentiaries were transferred to the Department of Justice, the maintenance and construction of lighthouses to the Marine and Fisheries Department, and the smaller drill halls and armouries to the Department of National Defence. The work of the Department of Public Works is now divided into three principal branches, viz., the Engineering Branch, the Architect's Branch, and the Telegraph Branch.

Engineering.—The Engineering Franch conducts the construction and repair of wharves, piers, breakwaters, dams, weirs, bank and beach protection works; the improvement of harbours and rivers by dredging; the construction, operation, and maintenance of dredging plant and the construction, operation, and maintenance of graving or dry docks; the construction and maintenance of interprovincial bridges and approaches thereto, also the construction, operation, and maintenance of bridges with movable spans on certain highways; hydrographical and topographical surveys which are required for the preparation of plans, reports, and estimates; test borings for the purpose of ascertaining the nature of foundations; the testing of cements and materials of construction; the licensing of international and interprovincial ferries, and the control of works constructed in or over navigable waters by authority of the Navigable Waters Protection Act (R.S.C., 1927, c. 140).

Architecture.—The Architect's Branch constructs and maintains Government buildings, post offices, customs houses, examining warehouses, quarantine stations, immigration and experimental farm buildings, military hospitals, and telegraph offices. It also constructs armouries and drill halls and leases office accommodation as required for the various Departments.

Telegraphs.—The Telegraph Branch has control of the construction, operation, and maintenance of all Government-owned telegraph lines and cables. These lines are located in the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia, and Yukon (see also p. 714).

Graving Docks.—The Department constructed five dry docks and is responsible for subsidies under the Dry Dock Subsidies Act, 1910 (9-10 Edw. VII, c. 17). A description of these docks is given in the Transportation Chapter, p. 679.

Revenues and Expenditures.—Details of gross revenues and expenditures, formerly published in this Section, may be obtained from the Annual Report of the Department. Net revenues and expenditures for this as well as all other branches of Government are available in the Public Finance chapter of this volume.

Section 4.—The Indians and Eskimos of Canada.

Subsection 1.—The Indians of Canada.†

The Indians of Canada whose affairs are administered by the Department of Mines and Resources, Indian Affairs Branch, number about 112,510 (according to a departmental census taken in 1934), their numbers varying slightly from year to year. A small yearly increase is evident, and the popular notion that the race is disappearing is not in accordance with facts. Before they were subjected to the degenerating

^{*} Revised by J. M. Somerville, Secretary, Department of Public Works.
† Revised by T. R. L. MacInnes, Secretary, Indian Affairs Branch, Department of Mines and Resources.